Friday, February 24, 2012

Town of Carthage joins regional council of governments

At its Wednesday, Jan. 25, meeting, the Triangle J Council of Governments’ Board of Delegates unanimously approved a request by the Town of Carthage for membership into the regional organization. Carthage, the county seat of Moore County, is the county’s third municipality to join Triangle J since 2001 when regional boundaries were shifted, adding Moore County to region J. The Town of Carthage is Triangle J’s 36th member government.
Carthage Town Commissioner Artie Barber will serve as the town’s delegate to the Triangle J Board of Delegates. Barber represented Carthage at the board meeting and expressed the town’s interest in becoming part of the regional organization.
Triangle J Council of Governments is a membership organization comprised of municipal and county governments across a seven-county region. The organization leads regional planning and collaborative efforts in land use and infrastructure, water resources, energy efficiency and air quality. TJCOG also coordinates county-based services for the region’s aging population.
Designated by the State of North Carolina as Region J, the organization covers Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange and Wake counties. To learn more about TJCOG, go to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to send us a comment. Just be sure to keep it clean and respectful. And we reserve the right to not publish anonymous comments.